100 Days of Code... Take-Two!

100 Days of Code... Take-Two!

Mudd Tech Blog #3

ยท

3 min read

Introduction

I'm writing this blog post/article to reflect on my first 100DaysOfCode challenge and to prepare myself for the next one which I will be starting next week. I started my first 100DoC on the 30th of March 2021. At the time I was still working my way through the free code camp HTML & CSS projects and was finishing up a product showcase page about a fake mountain bike brand. I had just started The Odin Project curriculum and that along with my portfolio website is what I spent the majority of my time doing. While reading this you'll learn about what I worked on during my first 100DoC, what events transpired during that time to me personally, and what I plan to work on during my next 100DoC. Enjoy ๐Ÿ˜†!

Personal Events That Transpired During 100 Days of Code #1

Event Date
Covid-19 vaccines 1 + 2 April 17 / May 8
Wisdom teeth removal May 10
21st birthday May 12
Read Atomic Habits May 30
Vacation to the pacific northwest May 30 - June 4
Started playing in beach volleyball league June 14
Job shadow with web & software developer June 15
Started this blog July 4
Got a raspberry pi 4 July 19

What I worked on during the last 100DaysOfCode Challenge

  1. HTML + CSS Free Code Camp projects
  2. Portfolio Website
  3. Google home page (UI copy)
  4. Drum Kit Project by @wesbos
  5. Rock Paper Scissors
  6. Etch-A-Sketch
  7. Object-Oriented Programming
  8. Calculator
  9. Library
  10. Tic Tac Toe

What Went Well the First 100 Days of Code

The first time around doing 100DoC went quite well as you can see from the list above. I had previously taken a python course which helped me grasp javascript concepts faster. I only ever did one "front-end" project with python using Tkinter. The project was blackjack, but it didn't go so well as I mostly copied code from the course. I believe using The Odin Project was incredibly helpful in my programming journey because it forced me to learn using all sorts of resources including articles, videos, exercises, and projects. My favorite project that I worked on was the calculator project. It went really well and was the closest I have gotten to the UI I actually wanted to make.

What Didn't Go So Well

There were a few hiccups during my first 100DoC. There was a week that consisted of both my second covid shot AND getting my 6 wisdom teeth removed. That week was certainly uncomfortable, to say the least. Another issue was my vacation to Seattle and Portland, while this was an awesome experience it didn't lend itself well to coding productivity. I decided to take a few days off for the trip but got a lot of work done on the long plane rides. Lastly, I tried adding Google auth to my library project and after a week of attempting this, I had to throw in the towel and give up. There was definitely more good than bad during my first 100DoC which is why I'm so excited for the next one.

Plans for My Second 100 Days of Code

During this next 100DoC, I'd really love to become more comfortable with Typescript by switching to it for all future The Odin Project Javascript projects. After I finish The Odin Project I plan on building a new portfolio page using everything I've learned plus some new stuff like nest.js and tailwindCSS. After this, I will practice/learn new developer job skills like advanced git by taking MITs "The Missing Semester". Finally, I'd like to relearn SQL using postgreSQL to build either an e-commerce website or a payroll management system. Overall my goal with this 100 Days of Code is to simply get back to consistent coding.

100DaysOfCode2-Plans.png
ย